top of page

Copyright and Creativity

I have always wondered if the strict rules that apply to copyright are hindering creativity sometimes. I am currently working on a track that uses a sample from Lost it To Trying by Son Lux. It is only a small two word sample and it is works really well with the strings and synth that are also in the song. The song is far from finished but I need to make a decision when it is done if I try and gain the rights for this sample or if I just wing it and release it in the hope that it flies under the radar. I try to think of it in the reverse, if somebody used a sample from one of my tracks, would I care? And the answer is, probably not. Obviously there are exceptions to this rule, but if an artist used a sample from something that I have made I wouldn’t be chasing compensation. I would be flattered that something I have created has sparked someone’s creativity and helped someone create something they are proud of. But i think copyright rules have a job to pay in the industry to keep people from taking advantage of other artists work.

bottom of page